Skip to content

The Rocket

April 16, 2013

photo copy

I’ve never really been one to experiment with mascaras. Once I find something I like, I usually stick with it for a long time. That being said, I kept seeing commercials raving about this Maybelline “The Rocket” mascara and I finally decided to stretch out of my comfort zone and give it a try. In thinking about how to grade it, I decided to break it down into three categories: volume, length and overall.

Volume: B …For how much they were pumping up the Volum’Express aspect of this mascara, I was underwhelmed…but not 100% disappointed. I decided to give it a B for volume because I could see some difference in my lashes, but not what I was expecting given all the hype.

Length: A-…I was impressed with how much longer my lashes were when I put on a few coats using the wide-set wand. This gave me the perfect amount of length without being too dramatic or severe for day time wear.

Overall: B+… In being fair, I had to remind myself that this is a drag store mascara under $10.00, so of course I’m not going to get the effects of Diorshow or some other high end mascara. I think this would be great to combine with a high end grade mascara for optimal results. Where it lacks in volume, Diorshow or Bobbi Brown’s Extreme Party Mascara layered on with The Rocket could give you seriously enviable lashes.

photo copy 2

Comments are closed.

