Skip to content

Kerstin Florian Professional Peel

May 15, 2012

Remember the Sex & the City episode when Samantha had the horrible chemical peel?

At my last facial about a month and a half ago, the aesthetician used something on my skin that made me tense up just from hearing the name: a glycolic peel pad. I’ve heard (and seen) horror stories about people having glycolic peels that have gone terribly wrong. The image of Samantha from SATC when she had the bad chemical peel kept popping into my head as the  aesthetician told me what she was about to do to my face. Even though I was assured from testing the pad on my hand that all I would feel was a little tingling, I couldn’t help but wonder if I was about to have my first facial disaster.

I couldn’t have been more wrong about my reservations with the ‘Kerstin Florian At-Home Professional Peel’ (full name) pad that she used on me. The slight tingling and pungent smell were definitely a much different sensation on my face, neck and décolleté than anything I’ve ever felt before. I decided to buy the pads (which come 50 per jar), and was informed to use them twice a week for two months to see gradual, lasting results. I’m one of the unlucky ones that gets clogged pores around my nose from time to time, and using the peel has done wonders for me. In combination with the Dermalogica Microfoliant that I use, the two products have become an essential part of my weekly skin regimen to remove excess sebum and any dry surface skin cells. One of my main concerns was that I’d feel dry or look flaky from using the peel. Luckily, I’ve found the opposite effect. My skin looks radiant and even though I load up with moisturizer after using a pad, I’ve never felt or looked dry from using it.

How to use: I take one pad twice a week (usually Sunday and Wednesday) and gently glide it along my face, hands, neck and décolleté, leaving it on for two minutes before washing it off with cool water. Then, I use my toner and moisturizer as usual.

Kerstin Florian website

Comments are closed.

