Skip to content

Framed

November 11, 2011

Since my brother is moving into his new apartment soon, I wanted to give him something to jump-start his decorating process and double as a going away present. I’ve been juggling around a few different ideas but Wednesday night while I was at work, I realized I had been walking right by the start to the perfect gift for weeks. I decided to use different Beatles cards and frame them. To make things a little more interesting I took concert tickets that my family went to recently by a group called The Fab Faux [they cover Beatles songs] and added them next to the cards.

Originally, I wanted to use dark blue matting to mount the cards and tickets, but when I found a black frame with red accents I knew that the red matting was meant to be. It ties in the colors without looking too matchy since the red on the frame is very subtle. I love the contrast it makes against the black and white cards and conveniently ties in with the bits of red in the ticket stubs.

After using a box cutter to measure the matting and fit it to the frame size, I used double sided tape to adhere the tickets and cards to secure them in place. In the picture above you can really see how the red makes the accent color on the frame perimeter pop.

I was really pleased with how it turned out in the end. It has a very masculine touch to it yet is still artsy and sophisticated. The balance of color and mixture of different shapes and sizes allow your eye to jump from one thing to the next.

Comments are closed.

