Skip to content

Apple Cake

November 10, 2011

On Tuesday morning I had the urge to bake and decided to finally test the apple cake recipe that was given to me months ago. This is the first time in three years that I haven’t been apple picking but I wasn’t going to let that stop me from baking something seasonal. Side note: It was my first time using the new Viking oven in my house and I was a little afraid I’d end up ruining the cake, but it turned out heavenly in the end.

After I I peeled, cored and diced the apples, I tossed them in lemon juice [a trusty trick] so that they wouldn’t brown and lose their crisp flavor and color while I was prepping the batter.


It looked a bit like an apple pie filling when I put it in the pan but tasted completely different.

Apple Cake > Apple Pie

Recipe :  

2 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

2 cups white sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

4 cups apples – peeled, cored and diced

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour one 9×13 inch cake pan.
  2. In a mixing bowl; beat oil and eggs with an electric mixer until creamy. Add the sugar and vanilla and beat well.
  3. Combine the flour, salt, baking soda, and ground cinnamon together in a bowl. Slowly add this mixture to the egg mixture and mix until combined. The batter will be very thick. Fold in the apples by hand using a wooden spoon. Spread batter into the prepared pan.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45 minutes or until cake tests done. Let cake cool on a wire rack. Once cake is cool serve with a dusting of confectioners’ sugar or with a cream cheese frosting.
Comments are closed.

