Skip to content

Romantic Curl Tips

September 30, 2011

Toward the end of the summer, I bought my first curling iron. I don’t have many hair tools to begin with, just my blow dryer, so I knew it was going to take a bit of getting used to. I’ve never owned a straightener before [when I was younger my mom would never let me], and I’m thanking her so much for it now. I have naturally straight hair, but I usually just blow it out whenever I wear it down for some extra volume.

I decided on a 1.5 inch Hot Tools iron because I had read a few reviews about it and I have to say that I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a new iron. I haven’t really used it that much, but I have been playing around with trying romantic, full-bodied curls for a sultry evening look that is perfect for going out to dinner or out with friends.

*Disclaimer- I am by no means an expert, but I’ve found a few tricks that work to help me achieve this look. Also, I felt weird taking pictures of myself but how else would I share a hair tutorial if there weren’t pictures to follow?!*

First, I found that finding the right hairspray for what works with your hair type/texture is essential. I really like the Moroccanoil Luminous Hairspray because it doesn’t feel crunchy or heavy on my hair and I haven’t had a problem with residual build up. It also lasts a long time-the bottle is huge, so you’ll get your money’s worth out of it. Also, DO NOT curl your bangs [I made this mistake once and quickly learned to never do it again]. Stick to blowing them out before you start curling!

To achieve this look, you don’t want your curls to be perfect. Sectioning your hair is key [i.e. start with the hair underneath/towards the back of your head and work your way forward]. Wrapping your hair in different directions and pulling the iron away from your head seem to work for me to create full curls. I only have to leave the iron wrapped around a small section for about 10-15 seconds and slowly pull away to get a bouncy curl. Another trick I tried that also helped my curl last longer was wrapping it in a circular direction and pinning it at the top of my head with a bobby pin. Again, this may seem unnecessary and does take some added effort, but it really settles in the curl if you have the extra time to try it.

I sprayed my Morroccanoil very lightly because I wanted these curls to have a loose look. Throughout the course of the night as they straighten out more [if your hair is like mine they probably will] it leaves your hair with a nice wave that still has body. I really don’t mind if/when my curls loosen a little bit because it still creates a subtle wave [like what you see above].

This is the finished look. I gently ran my fingers through my hair and separated the curls to give them a more natural and full-bodied look instead of a straight spiral. Also, finishing off with a shine spray or just another spritz of hairspray would be the perfect finishing touch before you head out the door.

Side Notes: I’m wearing Essie Ladylike on my nails. Makeup: regular routine from previous post but I added in additional eye makeup [it wasn’t finished in these pictures], but I was wearing Bobbi Brown ‘Long Wear Gel Eyeliner ‘in Black Mauve Shimmer Ink.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

