Skip to content

MBFW

September 15, 2011

If you haven’t had a chance to look at any of the shows from Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week yet, today would be a wonderful day to catch up. I recommend NY Magazine’s blog: The Cut [I read this everyday]. The whirlwind of a week for editors, designers, buyers and everyone else is the fashion world comes to a close today, but now comes the even better part ; planning your Spring wardrobe & admiring the gorgeous pieces from the week. Below are just a few of my favorites from various shows/designers.

This dress from the Jason Wu Spring 2012 collection had to be my favorite piece walking down the runway for Fashion Week. Elegant, feminine and timeless yet so youthful and full of movement. The detailing on the top of the dress is the perfect compliment to the flouncy bottom. All tied together with a thin (I’m going to guess patent leather) black bow, this is simply the perfect dress in my eyes.

One of the most valuable things I learned from working at Marchesa this summer was the time and effort it takes to craft each dress. From the design process, to selecting materials, to the labor of actually sticking on, sewing and creating all of the details for the dress, the process is incredible to see from start to finish. That was exactly what I though when I was looking through the Oscar de la Renta show and saw this dress. I’m going to guess that the flower applique are tulle and (while I can’t sew for my life), I saw seamstresses working with the material this summer so I know the amount of work it takes to craft each detailed flower to perfection like on the Oscar dress above.

I will 100% be buying this Nanette Lepore dress the second it hits Neiman in the Spring [the bag too]. I’m actually curious of the material though. I’m thinking possibly silk crepe? Its hard to tell but it looks like a strong possibility to me.

This was another amazing Nanette Lepore dress from her Spring collection. Her show was probably one of my favorites of the week. The colors in this are incredible and vibrant, just what I’ll need come April! I love the juxtaposition between the sexy neckline and fun yet sophisticated buttons .

*all picture are from NY Magazine: The Cut*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

