Skip to content

Fall Hair Care Routine: Blonde Edition

September 14, 2011

It’s official, I’m back from summer and it’s time to start writing again! Now that the first few weeks of school are complete and I’m finally begining to settle into my weekly routine, it’s time to start thinking about another routine: my hair care! *Warning*-Sorry for anyone reading this who isn’t a blonde, I’m going to focus specifically on blonde products.

About a month ago I found out that Pureology [if you aren’t familiar with their line, they make wonderful products especially for color treated hair that won’t strip the color out] was going to be introducing a blonde line. I quickly got my hands on the shampoo and conditioner about 2 weeks ago and I’m in love with everything about them. First off, the smell isn’t too heavy or overpowering so it won’t clash with my perfume & lotion. Instead, it has a light, clean scent that leaves my hair smelling fresh. The packaging isn’t cumbersome and hard to handle which is another plus that’s commonly overlooked. While pretty, overly fancy bottles are just waiting to get clogged. The line is trustworthy, reliable and respected so even though the shampoo & conditioner are a bit pricey, you know that what you’re paying for will work. Also, a little goes a long way so you won’t need to waste the products by using more than just the right about depending on your hair length and thickness.

Before I buy a hair product I do two things. First, I make sure no one is around in the store before I do this, but I screw off the top to look inside the bottle at the color and smell it. Yes, I have a reason for doing so and if you’re a blonde and you’ve never done this before, shame on you! I’m not a scientist and in no way can I explain this in technical or scientific terms, but because shades of blues & violets are opposite from yellows on the color wheel, blue and purple shampoo can counteract that unwanted yellow, brassy color that blondes can sometimes get. It eliminates that dull, unattractive look to bring back the luster and brightness that you covet for your blonde hair.

Besides using the blonde line by Pureology, I have another wonderful product [again, new to my fall routine] that I’ve been treating my hair with 1-2 times a week. Shimmer Lights by Clairol is my hair’s new best friend. But I’m going to warn you of two things; there are major pros and cons to this product. First of all, using it more than 2 times a week could leave a purple hue on your hair [who would want that!?]. Also, it makes a bit of a mess in the shower so you have to be careful when washing it out of your hair. The smell [while amazing in my opinion] is quite strong, so if you don’t care for it then this product definitely isn’t for you because your hair will smell like it for about 2 days.

{Another pro: it’s inexpensive-just about $7.50 for a 16 fl oz. bottle}

{Another con: It will stain your clothes, so please be careful!}

Your hair will be fabulously shiny and so healthy looking and feeling! However, blue and purple products tend to be a bit drying, so follow with a conditioning product that you love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

