Skip to content

Marabou & Shimmer

July 29, 2011

Lately, I’ve been a bit back and forth about trying an accent nail & figured that this weekend would be the perfect time to test out the look. Saturday I’m heading out on a little road trip with my best friends and wanted to try something bold to complement the dress I’m wearing Saturday night to a birthday/housewarming party. I have to admit that though the look is a bit different from something I’d normally try, I absolutely adore how it looks in person. The silver shimmer comes across a bit bold in the close up shots, but it’s actually subtle in person and elicits the urge for a double take when you first see it.

As a side note–I choose to accent my ring finger on each hand because I wear the same hammered gold ring everyday, and I love how the shimmer stands out on that finger especially. If you want to try this look and are a bit hesitant like myself, I’d recommend only one coat of the shimmer and a light polish to compliment. I first saw this look on someone else and while  I thought it looked lovely on her, I wasn’t sure how I’d like it for myself. My thoughts now–it’s only polish! If you don’t like it, it’s an easy fix. I’ll definitely be trying gold shimmer next!

{Above I used Essie’s Marabou} 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Natasha permalink
    July 30, 2011 6:33 pm

    what did you use for the actual glitter?

    • August 2, 2011 3:58 pm

      Hi! Sorry for the delayed response. I used Color Club’s silver glitter called Wonderland. I chose this to use because it’s a silver glitter in clear gloss so it didn’t completely cover the Marabou that I used underneath as my base color.

Leave a Reply

