Skip to content

Intern Essentials

June 2, 2011

About two weeks ago, I started a new internship working in New York and I couldn’t be more ecstatic to be where I am this summer. Thus far, I have been surrounded by some truly inspiring and established people and have seen some breathtaking designs around the office. The not so fabulous part of having an internship (or I suppose any job where you’re commuting for that matter), is reaching your destination. I put together a little intern essentials guide of what I’ve found has helped make my day run just a little bit smoother.

1. An engaging book to make those train rides drag just a little less

2. What I’ve decided to call “intern flats”; shoes that you plan to put many miles on while you’re out running errands and traveling from place to place

3. A body cream or mist (preferably a soft, clean scent) to ward off the icky public transportation smell

4. An umbrella ; nothing too fancy (expect it toss it in your bag on the go)

5. Rain boots (I found adorable Hunter rain flats that I fell in love with)

6. A Metrocard

7. An agenda planner ; help keep track of to do lists, notes & personal appointments

8. A sensible tote ; the one pictured above is actually Hunter & it’s waterproof as well

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan permalink
    June 3, 2011 4:54 am

    umbrella… nothing too fancy… a black totes perhaps? =)

  2. June 2, 2011 9:22 pm

    I saw those Hunter flats awhile ago! LOVE them! Perfect for rainy days when boots just wont do!

    Ash
    http://www.countrygirlcityworld.com

    • June 3, 2011 2:44 pm

      I absolutely agree! It’s good to break up the look of rain boots once in a while–especially when you are walking about nyc, sometimes heavy boots won’t cut it.

Leave a Reply

