Skip to content

Newspapers & Nails

April 8, 2011

I’ll be honest in saying that I don’t experiment with doing my own nails very often. I wish I was better at it, but it always ends up looking better when I just get them done. Yesterday, after some inspiration from a friend I decided to make myself a homemade nail decal. Since writing is such an important part of my day and what makes me who I am, why not show it in my everyday style?

I spent some time finding inspirational newspaper clippings and hoped that the wistful words (even if only part of a sentence would show up on my nail) would make me smile every time I looked down at my hand. First, I painted my nails with a very sheer pink and let them dry before I quickly dunked each nail in alcohol (be sure to cover the area with a towl!). Then, I quickly wrapped the newspaper around my finger for 30 seconds and gently peeled the paper back to reveal the text on my nail. Some fingers turned out better than others (although I honestly can’t say why since I did the same thing every time), but it was a process that would definitely involve practice.

The end result? They turned out a little rough, but I think part of the look is that they aren’t supposed to be perfect, but have a sort rustic old newspaper effect. This would make for a perfect rainy Sunday afternoon project when you need a smile, something to get your mind off of school work or just an excuse to use that extra newspaper that’s been lying around!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Daniel permalink
    April 9, 2011 7:57 pm

    that’s pretty clever

Leave a Reply

