Skip to content

OPI Black Shatter

March 3, 2011

The other day I came across this OPI Black Shatter nail polish when I saw someone at the nail salon saying “where is the crack?” over and over again. This “crack” she was referring to is the newest sensation from OPI’s Katy Perry line called Black Shatter. You start by painting your nails any base color you want (like silver above) and once they are completely dry, you take the shatter polish and apply a thin coat over your nails. It goes on black, but within seconds the polish separates and your left with a crackle effect on your nail. Will I give it a try? Most likely no, its really not my style. However, I have to admit it does sort of grow on you depending on the base color the shatter is paired with. *Hint* For anyone who is going to try to do this themselves, I asked my manicurist for some tips and she told me to apply a very thin coat of the crackle and not wait too long between strokes because it dries within seconds, and layering on too much won’t give it the right shatter effect.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 1:46 pm

    I LOVE IT! I did two layers on one nail and it was covered with too much black, so I learned my lesson there. I can’t wait to try out the Silver Shatter and China Glaze’s colored cracked nail polishes.

Leave a Reply

