Skip to content

Hazelnut Nutella Cookies

January 3, 2011

 

Using a combination recipe from Ina Garten & Martha Stewart I decided to take my hand at hazelnut Nutella cookies. Surprisingly, they were much trickier than I expected them to be. The recipe was a shortbread cookie with no eggs and fairly simple ingredients (most of them were taken from the Ina recipe). However, the dough was crumbly and quite hard to keep together let alone form into circles. The picture suggested rounding out a small circle in the middle (making it more of a traditional linzer cookie), but I decided to save myself an extra step and leave the cookie whole.
Before I added the Nutella between the top and bottom layer, I used confectioner sugar to add an extra touch to the top part of the sandwich. The Italian Oreo of 2011? The end result was purely heaven despite the frustrating dough in the beginning. Next time, I’d suggest anyone trying out this cookie to follow the Martha Stewart recipe. I’m an Ina lover at heart, but not for this cookie!
What’s not to love?
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 6:27 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m drooling over here. Those cookies look divine, especially in that last picture with the powdered sugar. I’m glad you decided to skip the linzer step because those look perfect as-is! Happy cooking in the new year 🙂

Leave a Reply

