Skip to content

Bloody Witch Fingers

November 1, 2010

Doesn’t that title sound appetizing? Making these cookies, (with my own spin to the recipe) was perfectly festive for Halloween.

They were a light, yet still tasty vanilla & almond cookie. For the “blood,” I decided to use strawberry jelly. I love how these pictures turned out in the end. Of course my camera ended up being a little sticky by the end, and jelly was glued to my hands, but I’d say the result was well worth it.

To give the cookies a “finger-like” look, I used a knife and sliced horizontal ridges about half way down the cookie.

To give the cookies their shape, I let the dough sit in the fridge for about 25 minutes. Once I took out the dough, I used wax paper to help shape them and added the almonds and ridges. I didn’t want my cookies to look perfect at all, so I made sure the edges were uneven and each size varied a little bit, making them look uglier. This actually is a great beginners baking project because they are supposed to look ugly, yet they’re still so cute.

I placed them into the oven for 25 minutes, (it ended up being about 22) because they were a nice golden brown color before the time was up.

I love the slight crack down the middle, I thought it made it look so authentic.  I removed the almonds to put on the jelly when they came out of the oven, but waited for about 10 minutes until they were starting to cool so the jelly wouldn’t melt. The end result was spooky yet still adorable.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel permalink
    November 1, 2010 11:29 pm

    I wanted one

  2. November 1, 2010 10:38 pm

    Cool!

Leave a Reply

