Skip to content

Official Preppy Flop

October 26, 2010

The arrival of the 2010 sequel to The Official Preppy Handbook from 1980 was something I had been anticipating since last Spring when I first heard it was going to be released in September. I’ve had the book for about a month now, and I can’t even get through the whole thing. I was quite disappointed with it after all it was hyped up to be, but there were a few things from the book that were valuable and worth sharing.

The one section that I actually found entertaining was fashion. It wasn’t really anything I didn’t already know, but it was almost humorous to read some of the things within the chapter. This page on classic preppy travel bags was well done.

This section on trenches covered all the classic essentials and would make excellent staples to any wardrobe, preppy or not.

This page on loafers/flats and sandals was another that I really enjoyed. They were dead on with almost every shoe, maybe for the exception of one or two which I won’t bash on to be fair. Overall, I’d say the book isn’t worth buying. Glancing through if your in a Barnes & Noble and it’s in stock, then yes, but definitely not worth going out of your way for.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 5:35 pm

    Totally sucks when you’ve hyped something up and it doesn’t live up to your expectations 😦 But the pages you’ve shown look great – I love the layout / graphics and the cover art is super cute, I can see this sitting on my coffee table!

    ash
    http://www.countrygirlcityworld.com

Leave a Reply

